Photo: PR Times
food

Burger King Japan gets nasty with its Teriyaki Ugly Beef Burger

4 Comments
By grape Japan

When it comes to heavy hitting burgers, Burger King fans in Japan have had their pick of the litter in recent months. Between Whoppers spicy enough to ward off evil or be dubbed magma meat walls, as well as one pound beef burger all-you-can-eat challenges, there's been no shortage of excess when it comes to having it your way.

According to Burger King Japan, however, their best selling item of the past year has been one with not the most attractive name: The Cheese Ugly Beef Burger. The burger's name is a reference to the sloppy aesthetic it has due its messy four-cheese buns, as well as a self-admitted doing away with attention to aesthetic appeal.

So following up on that popularity, Burger King has decided to double down on the ugliness with a saucy sequel certain to add some ooze to the series with their new Teriyaki Ugly Beef Burger.

main-46-1.jpg

Once again, the burger features handmade four cheese buns with slightly sour Gouda, mild Egmont, slightly sweet Mozzarella, and rich Cheddar cheese layered and baked into them. The main feature this time is a rich teriyaki sauce made from charred onions and red miso paste that slathers a 100% beef patty topped with pickles, fresh lettuce, tomato and onion. The combination of of cheeses and tangy teriyaki sauce is touted by Burger King as a sweet and sour burger.

The Teriyaki Ugly Beef Burger is currently available at Burger Kings across Japan for 690 yen on its own, and 990 yen in a set.

Read more stories from grape Japan.

-- Hamster becomes white mochi in hanami dango impression, resulting in sweetest spring photo set

-- Gorgeous kitty-themed temple pilgrimage books are perfect stationery for cat lovers

-- Tokyo’s LINE Friends pop-up cafe has cutest menu around for fans of Brown and Cony

© grape Japan

©2021 GPlusMedia Inc.

4 Comments
Login to comment

Yummy!

3 ( +3 / -0 )

Set is a bit overpriced you think? Beats McD's and Mos though. BK burgers are always good.

0 ( +2 / -2 )

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, had that behemoth for lunch today, loved every mouth-watering indulgence bite, so that's it for my cheat day this week. Tomorrow back to smashing weights again.

2 ( +3 / -1 )

Better cheese that you can get from most Japanese supermarkets...

2 ( +2 / -0 )

Login to leave a comment

Facebook users

Use your Facebook account to login or register with JapanToday. By doing so, you will also receive an email inviting you to receive our news alerts.

Facebook Connect

Login with your JapanToday account

User registration

Articles, Offers & Useful Resources

A mix of what's trending on our other sites