Take our user survey and make your voice heard.

Japan eases travel advisory for 36 nations


The requested article has expired, and is no longer available. Any related articles, and user comments are shown below.


©2024 GPlusMedia Inc.

Login to comment

36 countries

the third-highest Level 2

its four-point scale to Level 1

15 nations

from Level 3 to Level 2

Among them are seven in the Middle East and Africa, six in Europe and two in Latin America.

109 nations remained under the Level 2 including 30 in Asia

35 European nations

41 countries

at Level 3.


All I see is a confusing amount of random numbers.

7 ( +9 / -2 )

"Individuals from blue list countries are exempt from testing and isolation measures. "

This from the 'Japan to resume accepting guided foreign tour groups from June 10

' news item.

It would have helped to include it here, too.

2 ( +3 / -1 )

too much of worthless and some chaotic numbers.

2 ( +4 / -2 )

Very informative news! It will lead you to Google search engine for more details.

6 ( +6 / -0 )

Would have been helpful if JT showed us the complete list.

4 ( +4 / -0 )

Since there is no list here, I'll just copy the one from the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (https://www.mofa.go.jp/ca/fna/page4e_001053.html)

From June 1, 2022: Measures in response to Omicron variant / New Border Measures (28)

Group “Blue”

Regardless of the vaccination status of the entrants/returnees, on-arrival test, home quarantine and other measures are not required.

Afghanistan, Algeria, Argentine, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kyrgyz, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Sudan, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Zambia

Group “Yellow”

On-arrival test and 7-day home quarantine (or 3-day home quarantine + negative result of a voluntary test) are required, however, those who obtain a valid vaccination certificate are not required to have on-arrival test, home quarantine and other measures.

Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bhutan, Botswana, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cook Island, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominica, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Federated States of Micronesia, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Macau, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Moldova, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Niue, North Korea, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine, Peru, Portugal, Republic of Burundi, Republic of Congo, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Vanuatu, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Solomon, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zimbabwe

Group “Red”

On-arrival test is required. 3-day quarantine at a government-designated facility is required, however, those who obtain a valid vaccination certificate may have 7-day home quarantine (or 3-day home quarantine + negative result of a voluntary test) instead.

Albania, Fiji, Pakistan, Sierra Leone

3 ( +4 / -1 )

Unfortunately I sent the post before I could give a proper explanation. Obviously this list differs from what the article mentions. It is concerning restrictions for people heading to Japan starting from June 1. Yes, it is somewhat off-topic but I think it's of interest to the people here and there is a good chance that the countries in the list correspond in some way with the once the article failed to mention. I mean, if they decide now that people arriving from Fiji have to quarantine for several days in June, I highly doubt that it's one of the countries considered save to travel to.

3 ( +4 / -1 )

Since there is no list here, I'll just copy the one from the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (https://www.mofa.go.jp/ca/fna/page4e_001053.html)

Thank you so much! This kind of stuff is not so easy to find in the morass of Japan-government websites

Now I can plan the next 6 months of travel!

2 ( +2 / -0 )

So according to the Blue list, those of us from the UK are deemed... safe? So why the stupid guided tours only?

3 ( +3 / -0 )

Login to leave a comment

Facebook users

Use your Facebook account to login or register with JapanToday. By doing so, you will also receive an email inviting you to receive our news alerts.

Facebook Connect

Login with your JapanToday account

User registration

Articles, Offers & Useful Resources

A mix of what's trending on our other sites