rugby world cup 2019

Farrell escapes ban over Twickenham tackle; free to face All Blacks

4 Comments
By Mitch Phillips

The requested article has expired, and is no longer available. Any related articles, and user comments are shown below.

© (c) Copyright Thomson Reuters 2018.

©2019 GPlusMedia Inc.

4 Comments
Login to comment

50/50 call imo. I think Farrell genuinely tried to wrap his arm(s) around Estheruizen. Defo not a clear shoulder charge & tackle wasn't high either.

Surprised Gardner -who's a soft ref- saw it that way though.

-1 ( +0 / -1 )

Not a card. Probably a penalty.

-1 ( +0 / -1 )

goldorak

Wow. We posted at about the same time with different opinions! I didn't see your post until I had posted mine.

I don't think he tried to wrap his arms. Check out this shot.

https://inews.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/owen-farrell-tackle-video-england-vs-south-africa-highlights-referee/

Plus, as an All Black supporter, it's my job to be biased against the English.

1 ( +1 / -0 )

Definitely worth a sanction in game. Agree not red card, probably yellow, certainly a penalty.

1 ( +1 / -0 )

Login to leave a comment

Facebook users

Use your Facebook account to login or register with JapanToday. By doing so, you will also receive an email inviting you to receive our news alerts.

Facebook Connect

Login with your JapanToday account

User registration

Articles, Offers & Useful Resources

A mix of what's trending on our other sites