The last teams standing: India takes on Australia in the Cricket World Cup final


The requested article has expired, and is no longer available. Any related articles, and user comments are shown below.

© Copyright 2023 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.

©2024 GPlusMedia Inc.

Login to comment

Cricket is dominated by teams from South Asia. India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka were five of the ten teams in the ongoing ICC 2023 Cricket ODI World Cup. Players of South Asian origin from South Africa, England, the Netherlands, and New Zealand adapted to the Indian pitches quickly and comfortably. South African Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi, Englishmen Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali, Flying Dutchmen Teja Nidamanuru and Aryan Dutt, and New Zealand's Ravindra Rachin and Ish Sodhi relished the opportunities they had on Indian pitches. New Zealand's Mumbai born spinner Ajaz Yunus Patel could have been a real threat to opponents on Indian soil.

0 ( +0 / -0 )

5 time champions Australia won its first World Cup in India and they were the underdogs in the 1987 final.

They don't have Steve Waugh but they do have Steve Smith who has been pretty quiet this World Cup.

0 ( +0 / -0 )

Login to leave a comment

Facebook users

Use your Facebook account to login or register with JapanToday. By doing so, you will also receive an email inviting you to receive our news alerts.

Facebook Connect

Login with your JapanToday account

User registration

Articles, Offers & Useful Resources

A mix of what's trending on our other sites